Chunky Monkey Smoothie

What better way to inaugurate day 4 of no-processed foods eating than with a smoothie named after my favorite Ben & Jerry’s ice cream flavor – Chunky Monkey!  Based on the yummy combination of banana, nuts, and chocolate, I knew this smoothie had to be a hit!

Chunky Monke Smoothie

The inspiration for this smoothie came from my favorite childhood ice cream flavor as well as from the Reboot With Joe website.  For the first time ever, I have been drinking smoothies for breakfast this week (and avoiding processed foods), and have felt surprisingly energized by them.

The inspiration for this change in my diet came from two people.  One was a friend who did a fruit-and-vegetable ten-day cleansing.  I never thought of myself as the cleansing type, but I realized that even though I may eat healthy according to dietary guidelines, I do consume too much sugar and processed food.  My second inspiration was my mom, who has recently reported feeling much better since eliminating gluten from her diet.  I have drastically reduced gluten and dairy (two common allergens) in my diet, and hope to completely eliminate these next week to see how it affects me.

I used to snack on sugar-loaded sweets throughout the day, especially when I would get stressed at work.  I am excited to report that, even though I did go through sugar withdrawal for two days, leaving me sleepy and lethargic, I have now overcome the sugar addiction and feel empowered to take on the world!  While I originally wanted to see if my reduction of processed foods and sugar would result in weight loss, the change I have noticed most is in my skin – my face feels much smoother than before.  I look forward to seeing the other benefits this healthier eating plan has to offer.

I will continue posting any recipes I create, but for now, enjoy the Chunky Monkey Smoothie:

Chunky Monkey Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful baby spinach leaves
  • 3-4 leaves kale (stem removed)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 heaping teaspoon natural peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon cacao nibs
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 2-4 ice cubes, optional

Blend all ingredients in high-powered blender.  Pour into glass and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

