Spicy Collard Chips with Lemon-Thyme

It’s Thursday.  My fridge is still overflowing with veggies from my intense farmer’s market and CSA shopping on Saturday, and I know that the countdown toward their demise has begun.  Knowing that I live with someone who will do anything possible to avoid consuming veggies of his own initiative, I knew I had to get creative.  So what’s a girl to do?  Inspired by overpriced kale chips I saw at Sprouts, I knew I had to convert a veggie into something called a chip!

I decided to work with some leafy greens – collard greens.  I looked at some recipes for collard greens online, and was inspired by this recipe for lemon-thyme collard greens to make my collard green chips.

Image

Spicy Collard Green Chips with Lemon-Thyme

Spicy Lemon-Thyme Collard Green Chips

Ingredients:

  • 10 leaves collard greens, stems removed and torn into 3-inch chunks
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small pinch red pepper flakes
  • 4 sprigs thyme, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon lemon or lime juice (I used key limes)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

1.) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2.) Separate the collard green leaves from the stems by holding the leaf in your left hand and tearing down along the stem with the right.  Tear the leaves into three-inch chunks.

3.) In a bowl, combine the leaves with the remaining ingredients and mix.

4.) Spread the leaves out in a single layer on two baking sheets lined with aluminum foil.

5.) Bake for about 7 minutes, or until crispy on the top.  Remove from the oven, flip over, and bake fora bout 5 minutes on the other side.

6.) Chips are ready when they are crispy.  If a few are still limp/soggy, remove the crispy ones to a bowl and return the limp ones to the oven for a few more minutes.

In my opinion, they are deliciously crunchy, spicy, and aromatic.  But the real test is: What will a potato-chip loving, meat-is-king husband say?

He tried them.  His verdict: “Mmmm… you could sell these.”

Who knew?  Chips – a whole new way to enjoy your veggies!

Leave a Reply

