Broccoli Soup – Creamy and Healthy!

I love it when I stock up on more farmer’s market veggies than I can eat because it forces me to try new things with food.  And I know I’ll be getting more than my daily five servings of veggies this week!

Today I got home early after working a half-day and decided to try out a broccoli soup.  The results were pretty healthy and delicious, though I added in some less healthy ingredients to up the yum factor 🙂  Another perk was that I got to inaugurate my new Ninja blender.  I have struggled with an awful blender, in which I had to manually stir the ingredients and which would have taken a lifetime to blend this soup.  With my new Ninja blender, I pushed the blending button three times and was done!

 

Broccoli Soup with sour cream and sauteed bacon bits.

Broccoli Soup with sour cream and sauteed bacon bits.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3 gloves garlic
  • 1.5 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 large head broccoli, chopped (I included a large portion of the stem, not just the florets)
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 freshly shredded cheese (I like one with a strong flavor and used Romano, which I had on hand)
  • extra cheese, sour cream and freshly sauteed bacon bits, optional

Directions:

1.) Heat the oil in a skillet.  Add the onion, celery, and carrot, and saute until tender, about 4-5 minutes.

2.) Add the bay leaf, garlic, and thyme, and saute for 30 seconds.

3.) Add the broccoli and chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 8-10 minutes, until the broccoli is soft.

4.) Stir in the cheese, and season with salt and pepper.

5.) Transfer the mixture to a blender.  Blend until all ingredients are blended.

Serve with extra cheese, sour cream, and bacon bits.  Dee-licious!

One response to this post.

  1. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written much better! Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to send this information to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

