Ramekin-Broil Eggs – A New Breakfast Staple

Today, I decided to get creative with breakfast – after all, I have relied on the same 3 breakfast choices (cereal, omelets, or pancakes) for the past 10 years of my life, and it is time for a change.  Yesterday, I had come across four ramekins that I purchased about 3 years ago, and have not used once.  So it was only natural to break those out and see what I could come up with using them!  Here is the result:

Image

Eggs broiled in ramekins with bacon, spinach,tomato, and cheese.

I set my oven to broil, then placed a strip of bacon across each ramekin, draping it at the sides.  Next, I layered baby spinach and chopped tomatoes, making a little “nest” (indentation) in the middle for the egg to land into (otherwise, it will splay off to the one side of the ramekin and not look nearly as pretty).  Lastly, I cracked the egg into the center and topped it with salt, pepper, and freshly grated cheese.  

I broiled this concoction for about 10 minutes, until the whites were set and the yolk was still a little runny.  Before eating, I topped it with some freshly chopped herbs and hot sauce.  Simple and delicious! 

Leave a Reply

