Grapefruit-ginger Preserves

Mmm… grapefruit season.  I bought a large sack of grapefruit (I counted about 40 in all) for $5, but could only eat so much.  So I went about creating a grapefruit preserves recipe.  Although the ingredients are not organic, I bought the grapefruit because it is grown locally, and in-season food is always delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 10 grapefruit
  • 1/2 cup candied ginger, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh ginger
  • sugar to taste

First, I peeled the tough grapefruit skin and divided the grapefruit into sections.  I then peeled the membrane so only the pulp remained.  I placed the pulp in a medium-sized pot and drained all the juice that had formed.  I then added the ginger and sugar, and set it on the stove the boil.  Once it boiled, I reduced the heat and let it simmer for about 2 and a half hours (until most of the liquid had evaporated and it reached the consistency I wanted).  I then placed it in clean canning jars and boiled these in water for about 10 minutes, then removed them and let them cool.  Voila – grapefruit preserves!

I have used these preserves on top of toast and to flavor plain Greek yogurt.

A side note: During this process, I learned the difference between jelly, jam, marmalade, and preserves.  After searching far and wide online, it seems that the general consensus is as follows:

  • Jelly is made from fruit juice, to which pectin is added.
  • Jam is made from pureed fruit or fruit pieces.
  • Preserves are made from whole fruit without breaking the fruit up.
  • Marmalade uses the zest and the pulp of fruit.
Leave a Reply

